Bank Holidays for 2017 in Hong Kong

Below is the list of public holidays in Hong Hong for the 2017 year, when all banks in the city remain closed.

  • 1st Jan 2017, Sun – New Year’s Day
    Across the world, New Year’s Day is the first day of the year when the year kicks off. In 2017 it will fall on a Sun. When New Year’s Day falls on a Sun, the following day Mon becomes the New Year’s Day bank holiday.
  • 28-31th Jan 2017, Sat to Tue – Lunar New Year
    This date is often known across the world among the Chinese communities as Chinese New Year. In 2017 it falls on a Saturday.
  • 4th Apr 2017, Tue – Ching Ming Festival.
  • 14th Apr 2017, Fri – Good Friday
    This date begins the Easter celebrations and those in Hong Kong can enjoy a very long weekend with a public holiday on Sat known as “the day following Good Fri and then completing the long weekend Hong Kong celebrates Easter Monday, known here on the island as “The day following the Ching Ming Festival.”
  • 15th Apr 2017, Sat – Day after Good Friday
  • 17th Apr 2017, Mon – Easter Monday
  • 1st May 2017, Mon – Labour Day is the day, in 2017, when workers commemorate a day for a general holiday.
  • 14th May 2017, Fri – The Birthday of the Buddha.
    The 14th of May is the Buddha’s birthday, and in 2017 it will fall on Fri this year, so yet another public holiday to celebrate in Hong Kong.
  • 30th May 2017, Thu – Tuen Ng Festival.
    The Tuen Ng Festival has celebrated on Thu 30 May in this year. It also is known across the world as the famous Dragon Boat Festival, usually celebrated on the fifth day of the fifth moon.
  • 1st Jul 2017, Sat – Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day.
    This date celebrates the day when the administration took over from the 100-year rule of the Great Britain. It falls in 2017 on Sat, 1st July.
  • 1st Oct 2017, Sun National Day.
  • 2nd Oct 2017, Mon – The day following the National Day.
  • 28th Oct 2017, Sat – Chung Yeung Festival.
    This holiday has celebrated on the 9th day of the 9th month of the year, in the Chinese calendar. In 2017, it will be on Sat, 28th October.
  • 25th December 2017, Mon –  Christmas Day.
  • 26th December 2017, Tue – Boxing Day and the first weekday after Christmas Day.

Tags list
  • hong kong bank holidays 2016
  • 2017 bank holidays hong kong
  • bank holiday in hong kong on 2017
  • bank holidays hong kong